Recap: Unadilla National Amateur Day

Friday, August 16, 2019 | 5:00 PM

The 2019 100% Amateur Classic Motocross Unadilla National Report

The 2019 100% Amateur Classic, held in conjunction with the Circle K Unadilla National, took place on Unadilla MX's dedicated amateur track, from August 9-11, with 942 entries making up 37 classes. This collection of riders waged battle for prizes and contingency, thanks to race sponsors 100%, Lucas Oil, Massey Ferguson, Anderson Equipment, Eklund Farm Machinery, Yamaha Generators, Olivers RVs, Rentals to Go, and Laughlin Landscaping. Moto 1 for each class was held on Friday, with the event concluding on Sunday with Moto 2 for each division.

The 122-250cc Expert A class gets underway at Unadilla.
The 122-250cc Expert A class gets underway at Unadilla. Anthony Carcaramo

MX Sports Pro Racing’s expanded amateur racing program for the 2019 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship allows competitors from all over the country to race during the National weekend at all 12 rounds on the schedule, which will undoubtedly help the continued growth of the amateur racing component of the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series. 

In addition to amateur racing, every Pro Motocross round in 2019 will feature the special 125cc All Star Series, which was created to provide an opportunity for the manufacturers that still make 125cc two-strokes to showcase these bikes. The 125 class fills a huge gap between 85cc and 250cc motorcycles, so MX Sports is helping to fill the void by making 125cc two-strokes as part of the pro afternoons.

The 125 All-Star race at Unadilla was won by KTM rider Chase Yentzer. The Pennsylvania native, who also won the 125 All Star race during the High Point National in June, beat out Rochester, New York’s Trevor Schmidt (KTM) and Hanover, Massachusetts’ Justin Cokinos (KTM) for the “W.” The 125 All Star race has become a big part of Saturday’s lineup on National weekends, and has been consistently filling the 40-rider gates.

Among the amateur winners, 14-year-old Jake Owens stood out as one of the more dominant winners after posting a pair of moto wins to top the 85cc (12-15) class. Owens’ consistency easily beat out the 2-5 moto scores of runner-up Anthony Hill (KTM) of New York, and the 4-4 tally of third place finisher Jack Neronha (KTM) of Exeter, Rhode Island.

Owens got off the line in fourth at the start of moto one, but quickly moved into the lead by the end of the opening lap. Owens made good time in the rollers at the back of the track, allowing him to extended his lead to the finish.

After grabbing the holeshot to start the second moto, Owens pulled a quick gap on the field and never looked back, completing the 1-1 sweep.

“It felt good to get the win here,” said Owens. “It’s a confidence booster, for sure.” 

Samantha Webster competing in the Women 122-500cc class.
Samantha Webster competing in the Women 122-500cc class. Anthony Carcaramo

Connecticut’s Josh Clark (Yam) was a multi-class winner at Unadilla, taking victories in the 122-250cc Expert A class and in the 25+ Expert division. He also finished second in the 122-Open EX Division 2 class.

In the 122-250cc Expert A class, Clark finished second in the first moto behind Trevor Schmidt (KTM), with Darnell Lantigua (Yam) in third. Clark came back strong to win the second moto ahead of Schmidt and Braden Castellaneta (KTM) to finish with a 2-1 moto performance and the overall win. 

Josh Clark swept the 25+ Expert A division, going 1-1 in the two motos for the overall win. Jay Weller (Kaw) of Montgomery, New York, went 2-2 for second overall, while fellow New Yorker Michael Lang (KTM) ended up 3-4 for third overall. 

In the 122-Open Ex Division 2, Clark’s 1-2 lost out to Trevor Schmidt’s 2-1 performance, while Jay Weller finished third overall after turning in a score of 4-3.   

Christian Merman was dominant in the 85cc (9-11) class, going 1-1 to top fellow KTM rider Cooper Allen’s 2-2. Spencer Burly (Kaw) went 3-3 for third overall.

In the 30+ Expert A class, Jay Weller won both motos for the overall, with Jeremy Tiffany (Kaw) finishing with a 2-2 score for second overall. Honda-mounted Michael Lawlor was 3-3 for third.

Julia Krzemien went 1-1 to win the Women 122-500cc class.
Julia Krzemien went 1-1 to win the Women 122-500cc class. Anthony Carcaramo

The competition in the 51cc Pee Wee divisions was hot and heavy, with KTM-mounted Sebastian Witherell (1-1) winning the 51cc Pee Wee JR (4-6) class ahead of Cobra-mounted Chase Dill (2-2) and Austin Boltz (3-3) on a Honda. 

In the 51cc Pee Wee SR (7-8) class, Xzavier Halse (2-1) to get the win ahead of Preston Waite (1-2) and Calogero Gizzi (3-3). All three were riding Cobra.

Cooper Allen (KTM) dominated the Junior Mini (9-11) class, with a pair of moto wins. Spencer Burley (Kaw) went 2-2 for second with Christian Garrison (KTM) going 5-3 for third.

Other class winners include Spencer Burley (65cc 7-11); Jesse Bond Jr. (125cc Vintage); Alex Miller (500cc Vintage); Josh McGinnis (Collegeboy Division 1) and Liam Langer (Collegeboy Division 2). 

Get the Latest

Sign up for our newsletter and never miss the updates you love.