Highlights: Toyota Thunder Valley National

Sunday, June 12, 2022 | 12:30 AM

High temperatures and the always challenging altitude of Thunder Valley Motocross Park set the stage for yet another compelling afternoon of action for the 50th Anniversary of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The Toyota Thunder Valley National marked the third race of the 2022 season and didn't disappoint in the battle for victory.

450 Class

The home crowd was fully behind Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing's Eli Tomac and the Colorado native gave them what they wanted with a first moto victory, but Moto 2 provided an incredible showdown between Tomac and Team Honda HRC's Ken Roczen in what ended up being a battle for the overall win. The former champions duked it out for second place for most of the moto as Roczen ultimately withstood every challenge Tomac threw at him, but when race leader and point leader Chase Sexton crashed on the final lap of the moto aboard his Team Honda HRC ride, it handed the moto win to Roczen and put the German atop the overall classification for his first win of the season.

Align Media

250 Class

New faces took their turns at the front of the field in the 250 Class, as Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing's Levi Kitchen and Team Honda HRC's Hunter Lawrence both enjoyed wire-to-wire performances en route to their respective moto victories. However, it was once again defending champion and point leader Jett Lawrence who prevailed when all was said and done, relying on a pair of runner-up finishes to put his Team Honda HRC machine atop the podium for the third consecutive round.

Align Media



Thunder Valley National - 450 Class

- Lakewood, CO

1Ken Roczen Mattstedt, Germany2 - 1Honda CRF450R
2Eli Tomac Cortez, CO1 - 3Yamaha YZ450F
3Chase Sexton La Moille, IL4 - 2Honda CRF450R
4Jason Anderson Edgewood, NM3 - 6KAW KX450SR
5Antonio Cairoli Patti, Sicily, Italy5 - 4KTM 450 SX-F
6Ryan Dungey Belle Plaine, MN7 - 7KTM 450 SX-F
7Justin Barcia Monroe, NY6 - 8GasGas MC 450F
8Shane McElrath Canton, NC12 - 5Husqvarna FC 450
9Joey Savatgy Thomasville, GA8 - 9KAW KX450SR
10Garrett Marchbanks Coalville, UT9 - 11Yamaha YZ450F
Full Results


450 Class Standings - 2022

1Eli Tomac Cortez, CO546
2Chase Sexton La Moille, IL539
3Jason Anderson Edgewood, NM440
4Ken Roczen Mattstedt, Germany394
5Christian Craig El Cajon, CA373
6Ryan Dungey Belle Plaine, MN359
7Aaron Plessinger Hamilton, OH322
8Justin Barcia Monroe, NY303
9Joey Savatgy Thomasville, GA218
10Shane McElrath Canton, NC213
Full Standings


Thunder Valley National - 250 Class

- Lakewood, CO

1Jett Lawrence Landsborough, Queensland, Australia2 - 2Honda CRF250R
2Hunter Lawrence Landsborough, Queensland, Australia4 - 1Honda CRF250R
3Levi Kitchen Washougal, WA1 - 5Yamaha YZ250F
4Justin Cooper Cold Spring Harbor, NY3 - 3Yamaha YZ250F
5Jo Shimoda Suzuka City, Mie Prefecture, Japan7 - 6Kawasaki KX250F
6Stilez Robertson Bakersfield, CA6 - 7Husqvarna FC 250
7Michael Mosiman Sebastopol, CA13 - 4GasGas MC 250F
8Matthew LeBlanc Breaux Bridge, LA10 - 9Yamaha YZ250F
9Seth Hammaker Bainbridge, PA5 - 15Kawasaki KX250F
10Nick Romano Bayside, NY9 - 13Yamaha YZ250F
Full Results


250 Class Standings - 2022

1Jett Lawrence Landsborough, Queensland, Australia525
2Jo Shimoda Suzuka City, Mie Prefecture, Japan480
3Hunter Lawrence Landsborough, Queensland, Australia468
4Justin Cooper Cold Spring Harbor, NY415
5R.J. Hampshire Hudson, FL346
6Max Vohland Sacramento, CA303
7Seth Hammaker Bainbridge, PA256
8Nate Thrasher Livingston, TN251
9Michael Mosiman Sebastopol, CA208
10Pierce Brown Sandy, UT198
Full Standings



Keep up to date on the latest news and information during the 50th anniversary season.