Highlights: Tucker Freight Lines Ironman National

Saturday, August 27, 2022 | 7:15 PM

Known to be one of the most competitive tracks in American motocross, Indiana's Ironman Raceway lived up to the legacy of the motorsports crazed Indianapolis area with a memorable afternoon of racing at the penultimate round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The Tucker Freight Lines Ironman National was destined to play a pivotal role in the late stages of the title fights of both the 450 Class and 250 Class, and it exceeded expectations in front of a massive crowd of passionate race fans.

450 Class

The closest championship battle in the history of the sport remained just as tight at the end of two 450 Class motos, as Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing's Eli Tomac (1-2) and Team Honda HRC's Chase Sexton (2-1) traded wins in what proved to be another memorable chapter of their historic title fight. Tomac prevailed with the Moto 1 win after a thrilling battle, as Sexton made an assertive statement with a Moto 2 triumph that allowed him to emerge victorious via tiebreaker. A single point still separates the leaders of the division, with Tomac narrowly holding the upper hand entering the final round.

Align Media

250 Class

Team Honda HRC's Jett Lawrence came to Ironman with an outside chance at clinching a second straight title one round early, and after a dominant Moto 1 win that opportunity became a serious reality. However, a mid-pack start in the final moto, combined with an early lead by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Jo Shimoda, the primary challenger in the championship, forced Lawrence to come from behind. Although he missed out on wrapping up the 250 Class crown, Lawrence still prevailed with his eighth overall win of the season and moved one step closer to completing his title defense.

Align Media



Ironman National - 450 Class

- Crawfordsville, IN

RiderHometown Motos
1Chase SextonUnited States La Moille, IL 2 - 1
2Eli TomacUnited States Cortez, CO 1 - 2
3Aaron PlessingerUnited States Hamilton, OH 3 - 3
4Jason AndersonUnited States Edgewood, NM 6 - 4
5Christian CraigUnited States El Cajon, CA 5 - 5
6Ryan DungeyUnited States Belle Plaine, MN 4 - 7
7Ken RoczenGermany Mattstedt, Germany 7 - 6
8Malcolm StewartUnited States Haines City, FL 11 - 8
9Fredrik NorenSweden Lidk√∂ping, Sweden 9 - 10
10Dean WilsonUnited Kingdom Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom 13 - 9
Full Results


450 Class Standings - 2022

1Eli TomacUnited States Cortez, CO 546
2Chase SextonUnited States La Moille, IL 539
3Jason AndersonUnited States Edgewood, NM 440
4Ken RoczenGermany Mattstedt, Germany 394
5Christian CraigUnited States El Cajon, CA 373
6Ryan DungeyUnited States Belle Plaine, MN 359
7Aaron PlessingerUnited States Hamilton, OH 322
8Justin BarciaUnited States Monroe, NY 303
9Joey SavatgyUnited States Thomasville, GA 222
10Shane McElrathUnited States Canton, NC 213
Full Standings


Ironman National - 250 Class

- Crawfordsville, IN

RiderHometown Motos
1Jett LawrenceAustralia Landsborough, Australia 1 - 3
2Jo ShimodaJapan Suzuka City, Japan 5 - 1
3Hunter LawrenceAustralia Landsborough, Australia 3 - 2
4R.J. HampshireUnited States Hudson, FL 2 - 4
5Nate ThrasherUnited States Livingston, TN 4 - 6
6Justin CooperUnited States Cold Spring Harbor, NY 6 - 5
7Max VohlandUnited States Sacramento, CA 7 - 7
8Jalek SwollUnited States Belleview, FL 11 - 8
9Cameron McAdooUnited States Sioux City, IA 10 - 9
10Seth HammakerUnited States Bainbridge, PA 12 - 10
Full Results


250 Class Standings - 2022

1Jett LawrenceAustralia Landsborough, Australia 525
2Jo ShimodaJapan Suzuka City, Japan 480
3Hunter LawrenceAustralia Landsborough, Australia 468
4Justin CooperUnited States Cold Spring Harbor, NY 415
5R.J. HampshireUnited States Hudson, FL 346
6Max VohlandUnited States Sacramento, CA 303
7Seth HammakerUnited States Bainbridge, PA 256
8Nate ThrasherUnited States Livingston, TN 251
9Michael MosimanUnited States Sebastopol, CA 208
10Pierce BrownUnited States Sandy, UT 198
Full Standings



Keep up to date on the latest news and information during the 50th anniversary season.