Recap: 2020 Fox Raceway National Amateur Day

Friday, October 16, 2020 | 7:00 PM

WW Motocross Park Hosts Amateur MX Day

Top amateur racers from around the nation converged on Fox Raceway in Pala, California, on October 9, 2020 for the Fox Raceway Amateur MX Day.

Held on the same weekend as the final round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, Fox Raceway Amateur MX Day offered amateur racers of all abilities and ages the opportunity to race on the same course as the fastest pros in the world.

Following the same protocol as the Pro National on Saturday, the Amateur MX Days observed MX Sports’ 2020 COVID Mitigation Health Plan, which requires teams to take appropriate actions to guard against the threat of COVID-19.

Nick Romano won two classes, going 1-1 to win the Schoolboy 2 B/C (12-17) division, and 1-1 to win the 450B class.
Nick Romano won two classes, going 1-1 to win the Schoolboy 2 B/C (12-17) division, and 1-1 to win the 450B class. 2X Productions 

In all, 220 entries filled the starting gate at Pala, competing in 23 classes, and one of the biggest winners was Haiden Deegan, son of freestyler Brian Deegan. Deegan took wins in the Supermini 1 (12-15) and Schoolboy 1 B/C (12-17), sweeping all four motos in the process.

For the most part, Deegan led every lap of every moto, with the exception of the first Supermini moto, where he was fourth after the start, however the KTM rider was able to triple some obstacles that the other riders did not and he was quickly up into the lead and won the moto easily.

Deegan was thrilled to be able to ride the national track.

“I was looking forward to racing the national track so I could get some time on it for when I turn pro,” said Deegan.

Second and third in the Supermini 1 (12-15) class went to KTM rider Jeremy Fappani (2-2) and Husqvarna-mounted Jordan Torres (4-3). Meanwhile, second and third in the Schoolboy 1 B/C (12-17) class went to Suzuki rider Reven Gordon (5-2) and Husqvarna-mounted Dylan Howard (2-5).

Nick Romano also won two classes. The Yamaha rider went 1-1 to beat out the 2-2 of Team Green Kawasaki’s Ryder DiFrancesco, and the 4-3 of Suki rider Parker Ross to won the Schoolboy 2 B/C (12-17) division. The New York rider returned to win the 450 B class, going 1-1 to top Honda’s Hunter Yoder (2-2) and Kawasaki-mounted Dylan Cunha (5-3).

Another two-time winner was Landen Gordon. The Suzuki rider parlayed a second and a first to win the Mini Sr. 2 (10-15) class, and a pair of firsts to top the 85cc 10-12 division.

In the Pro divisions, Cole Bailey (KTM) won the 250 Pro class with a 1-1 score, while Cole Barbieri (Suz) went 2-2 to finish second and Nolan Stallings (Hon) went 3-3 to finish third.

Ryder DiFrancesco was second in the 250B class behind Jett Reynolds.
Ryder DiFrancesco was second in the 250B class behind Jett Reynolds. 2X Productions 

In the 450 Pro class, Jason Potter (KTM) swept both motos for the win, with Cole Bailey (KTM) was second with a 2-2 tally. Gaige Demars (Hon) went 4-3 to finish third.

Heavyweights duked it out in the 250B class, with Team Green Kawasaki rider Jett Reynolds sweeping both motos for the “W”, beating out the 4-2 of Ryder DiFrancesco (Kaw) and the 3-3 of Honda’s Hunter Yoder.

The Senior classes were ultra-competitive, and Phil Desimone put his Yamaha on top of the box in the 50+ A/B/C division with a 1-2 moto score. Gary Riekki (Suz) was second with a 2-3 tally, while Gabi Abayov went 4-4 on a Yamaha to finish third.

Former Pro, Jeff Matiasevich (Kaw) finished second behind Brian Deegan in the opening moto of the 40+ A/B/C class, but came back to win moto two to grab the overall win. Deegan did not start moto two. Steve Thinger (Kaw) was second overall with a 4-2 score, while Yamaha rider Ryan Mortensen went 3-4 for third overall.

Other winners included Christina Watteyne (Women 14+); Dylan Howard (125cc 12-16 B/C); Deegan Sugamele 51 4-6 Limited; Hawkins Campbell 51cc 7-8 Limited; and Wyatt Thurman (65 7-9).