FMF Privateer Power Award: Washougal National

Friday, August 9, 2019 | 1:30 PM

As one of motocross' most storied brands, it's fitting that Southern California's FMF Racing chooses to leverage its partnership and support of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship by touting the athletes who epitomize the brand's core values and, like the legendary exhaust manufacturer, continue to give it their all and strive to be the best, no matter the circumstance. With 45 years of existence, FMF's commitment to the sport is unrivaled, and its longstanding FMF Privateer Power Award has become one of the most coveted accolades amongst the riders who serve as the lifeblood of American motocross.

Each week, FMF and the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship ask the sport's loyal fan base to make their voices heard with a vote for who they think should be celebrated for his efforts at each and every stop of the 12-round season. Each selected rider will be recognized for his ability to overcome the odds in pursuit of his racing dream, and the unwavering determination to go bar-to-bar alongside the most talented racers on the planet.

It may surprise most fans to learn this, but the active rider with the most career Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship starts is none other than Alaska's most successful racer, Ben Lamay. The veteran rider from "The Last Frontier" has defied the odds from the beginning, simply by achieving his dream of becoming a professional racer after growing up in what is arguably the most remote state in the country. Since then, he's continued to earn the respect of his peers and the industry thanks to his work ethic and his relentless pursuit of results.

As a member of The Professional Journey/FLY Racing effort, Lamay has found a perfect home for him to flourish. More often than not he's the top privateer in the 450 Class, and at the most recent round of the championship from Washougal MX Park he left it all on the track en route to a 13th-place finish. Lamay was in the thick of the fight for a top-10 result in each moto, and he ultimately ended his afternoon at the Washougal National with 13-14 moto scores. That effort, combined with many other gusty rides this season, earned him the adoration of the fans, and it's why he was named the recipient of the FMF Privateer Power Award for Washougal.

Ben Lamay
Ben Lamay Rich Shepherd


2019 FMF Privateer Power Award Recipients


#69 Jake Masterpool / Paradise, Texas / Honda

Jake Masterpool
Jake Masterpool Jeff Kardas

Fox Raceway: 
#101 Fredrik Noren / Sweden / Honda

Fredrik Noren
Fredrik Noren Rich Shepherd

Thunder Valley: 
#447 Todd Waters / Australia / Husqvarna

Todd Waters
Todd Waters Jeff Kardas

High Point: 
#43 Tyler Bowers / Danville, Kentucky / Kawasaki

Tyler Bowers
Tyler Bowers Rich Shepherd

#346 Kevin Moranz / Topeka, Kansas / Kawasaki

Kevin Moranz
Kevin Moranz Jeff Kardas

#59 Nick Gaines / Ringgold, Georgia / Yamaha

Nick Gaines
Nick Gaines Rich Shepherd

#319 Coty Schock / Dover, Delaware / KTM

Coty Schock
Coty Schock Jeff Kardas

Spring Creek: 
#63 John Short / Pilot Point, Texas / Honda

John Short
John Short Rich Shepherd

Get the Latest

Sign up for our newsletter and never miss the updates you love.