Championship Leaders On Point in Fox Raceway II Qualifying

Saturday, September 3, 2022 | 3:30 PM

The hottest temperatures of the season greeted riders at the 12th and final round of the 50th Anniversary Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. Morning qualifying sessions at the Fox Raceway II National saw several riders mix it up at the top half of the time sheets, but in the end the championship leaders in both the 250 Class and 450 Class emerged with the fastest laps of the day.

On the verge of a successful title defense in the 250 Class, Team Honda HRC's Jett Lawrence started his day off on top with a time of 2:26.061, which was a half-second quicker than Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing's Justin Cooper in second (2:26.623). In third was Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing's RJ Hampshire with a time of 2:28.108.

All eyes were on Monster Energy Star Yamaha Racing's Eli Tomac and Team Honda HRC's Chase Sexton in the 450 Class, as just a single point separates the title combatants. Fittingly, they put themselves at the front of the pack in what was their first battle of the day. Tomac prevailed with a time of 2:24.345, which was followed by a 2:24.718 from Monster Energy Kawasaki's Jason Anderson, who slipped passed Sexton in third (2:25.149) as time ran out on the session.


Fox Raceway National II - 250 Class Combined Qualifying

- Pala, CA

RiderTimeIntervalBest LapHometownMachine
1Jett Lawrence 16:31.6532:26.061Landsborough, Queensland, AustraliaHonda CRF250R
2Justin Cooper 17:16.7732:26.623Cold Spring Harbor, NYYamaha YZ250F
3R.J. Hampshire 15:41.8442:28.108Hudson, FLHusqvarna FC 250
4Nate Thrasher 15:46.9072:28.140Livingston, TNYamaha YZ250F
5Hunter Lawrence 15:51.6012:28.264Landsborough, Queensland, AustraliaHonda CRF250R
6Jo Shimoda 16:48.7822:28.539Suzuka City, Mie Prefecture, JapanKawasaki KX250F
7Seth Hammaker 15:10.3502:28.560Bainbridge, PAKawasaki KX250F
8Haiden Deegan 15:25.9342:29.040Temecula, CAYamaha YZ250F
9Marvin Musquin 16:23.1232:29.115La Reole, FranceKTM 250 SX-F
10Max Vohland 17:03.1902:29.468Sacramento, CAKTM 250 SX-F
Full Results


Fox Raceway National II - 450 Class Combined Qualifying

- Pala, CA

RiderTimeIntervalBest LapHometownMachine
1Eli Tomac 15:34.6182:24.345Cortez, COYamaha YZ450F
2Jason Anderson 17:06.3962:24.718Edgewood, NMKAW KX450SR
3Chase Sexton 15:27.1322:25.149La Moille, ILHonda CRF450R
4Ryan Dungey 17:15.7742:26.093Belle Plaine, MNKTM 450 SX-F
5Ken Roczen 15:19.4652:26.137Mattstedt, GermanyHonda CRF450R
6Aaron Plessinger 15:47.3152:26.450Hamilton, OHKTM 450 SX-F
7Christian Craig 16:11.5932:26.584El Cajon, CAYamaha YZ450F
8Benny Bloss 16:48.3592:27.735Oak Grove, MOKTM 450 SX-F
9Garrett Marchbanks 15:11.6592:27.946Coalville, UTYamaha YZ450F
10Justin Barcia 15:24.2102:29.176Monroe, NYGasGas MC 450F
Full Results


* all times
Sep 3 - 1:00pm Live
Sep 3 - 4:00pm Live
250 Moto 1
Sep 3 - 5:00pm Live
450 Moto 1
Sep 3 - 6:00pm Live
250 Moto 2
Sep 3 - 7:00pm Live
450 Moto 2